All-Star Tiny Level 1

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 14, 2010
Ok so this is my first year coaching a tiny team. I'm clear on the level 1 rules and am writing their routine but I need a time clarification. We are competitive all star and not Rec.

Are their routines usually still 2 min 30 seconds as well? Do "helpers" go on the floor?

I'm obviously teaching them their routine in order starting with their opening, including How to run on the floor at a competition starting with heads down, then to their first stunt and then to their jump section and that's what I have so far. But I am stuck on what to do for a pyramid. We only have 6 girls right now. Their first stunt is 2 groups of 3. Any pyramid ideas?

We also have no walkovers, yet! We have some girls who are close. I know tiny sometimes gets stuck in walkovers and they need more time for tumbling but for the girls who don't have walkovers is a front roll cartwheel front roll a good running tumbling line?

I'm in very new territory! Lol help would me much appreciated! [emoji173]️

You could do a base on each side kneeling on one knee with one girl standing in middle and then have flyers do hitches to her hands. Use last girl to back which ever side needs extra support.

You could also do one shoulder sit to brace the other group at prep.

I'm not a coach, so I don't really know the logistics of tumbling passes and pyramids.

That said, CP1 did her time in Tiny's and CP2 is there now. In our experience at competitions, the Tiny Prep 1 division is much larger than the Tiny 1. Both of mine were in the TP1 so their routine was only 2 minutes. Also, we've seen everything from multiple helpers on the floor to teams as competitive as a Mini or Youth 1. Your approach should mirror what the gym expects on that front.

Good luck!