Any Advice On High School Cheerleading For Coaches?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Aug 7, 2014
I have an interview tomorrow about a cheerleading coaching job. I'm pretty sure I'm going to get it as they really need the help. I'm just not sure what to expect. This is my first time working with school kids and I'm young coach. While I may be young, I'm strict and stick to my words. So any advice and words of wisdom from cheer moms and high school coaches?

PS: of it means anything, I'm not sure if the school a competitive or not. I will be finding out tomorrow.

The Fierce Board App! || iPhone || Android

Set CLEAR expectations for all of the following and make sure you know the answers to the questions below:

*Attendance at practice, games, etc. What absences are excused? Which are not? How are girls to notify you of an absence? What is the penalty for excessive absences?

*Being on time. What is considered late? What is the consequence for being late? Is lateness ever excused? If so, under what circumstances.

*When are payments for fees, uniforms, etc. due? Are there any school-related penalties for failure to pay.

*TRYOUTS. What criteria will girls be judged on? How will they be scored? Will they be judged by coaches or by outside judges? Will there be alternates? How will you notify girls of the results?

*Camp. Is it mandatory? Will it be an away or home camp? Which company will you use?

*How will cheerleaders be expected to behave at games or other events? What is your policy for rude or disrespectful behavior while the girls are representing the school?

*PARENTS. How do you plan to communicate with them? Phone/email? When and how is it acceptable for them to contact you re: a concern?

*Competitions. Do all girls compete? If not, how do you determine who does?

Other important topics: