High School Basketball tumbling

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 29, 2010
Is it legal to tumble on the wood floors at basketball games?

this is my first year HS cheering, but i've heard from many experienced HS cheerleaders that it is not legal and our first year ever coach (-.-) thinks it is legal.

I live in south carolina if the rules change per state.

Aside from fulls you are fine tumbling wise for the most part. Just make sure no one is throwing anything that looks shaky or questionable on wood floors (no froggy BHS or they will be back-head-springs....)

Straight from the AACCA website:

Specific Basketball/Indoor Court Restrictions
1.The following skills are prohibited at basketball and other athletic contests conducted on courts, except where the area is free of obstructions and non-cheer personnel, and all skills are performed on a matted surface.
a.Basket tosses, elevator/sponge tosses and other similar multi-based tosses.
b.Partner stunts in which the base uses only one arm to support the top person.
c.Released twists into or from stunts or pyramids.
d.Twisting tumbling skills.

haha in my state we compete on basketball floors .. tumbling, stunts and all

My frosh year of college I judged regionals....I was APPALLED that they were competing on hardwood. Worse? It was raining pretty hard that day, and the roof started leaking right on to the gym floor, right at half court. The solution? Put a trash can out to catch the water and the teams would just have to work around it!!!! I would have walked out if i hadn't ridden out with someone from the team who was also judging. WVSSAC is a hot mess.