OT Bluford Series Or Good Series For Teens? Recommendations?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Off Topic

Keep_Believing

Staff member
Cheer Parent
FBOD:LLFB
Apr 11, 2011
Is anyone familiar with the Bluford Series? If so, recommendations? I am a teacher and was wondering if they would be appropriate for my students. I think some of my students could relate to the characters in these books. Maybe it would motivate them to read more. If not, any other recommendations?

Is anyone familiar with the Bluford Series? If so, recommendations? I am a teacher and was wondering if they would be appropriate for my students. I think some of my students could relate to the characters in these books. Maybe it would motivate them to read more. If not, any other recommendations?
Never heard of it. Can you give a quick description?

Home - The Bluford Series. Seem to address different issues such as bullying, peer pressure, etc. that my students could relate with.

The Bluford Series is a widely read collection of contemporary American young adult novels set in the fictional inner-city high school of Bluford High.[1] The series was created and published by Townsend Pressand is co-distributed by Scholastic. As part of an effort to promote reading in underfunded school districts, Townsend Press originally made the Bluford Series available to schools for a dollar each.

The Bluford series was definitely a little racy at times, but it was all life situations that present themselves during the high school/middle school experience.It definitely teaches valuable moral lessons, but not really a vocabulary builder though. However, I'm sure your kids will enjoy it, and won't want to put it down.

Last edited: