High School Captain Requirements

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Oct 15, 2011
Hey ladies!
I'm a high school coach and we're getting ready for tryouts!! We will be holding captain tryouts at the same time as regular tryouts. Please help me with ideas of requirements: what questions would you ask in an interview? what skills would you require?

Any ideas help!!

Thanks!

I don't look for more skills wise. I look for leadership ability, responsibility, reliability. Anyone interested in being captain has to get a teacher recommendation letter, write a letter to the coaching staff telling why they want to be (and deserve to be) captain. The team does vote, but their vote is weighted at 25%, the teacher rec is 25%, their letter is 25% and coach's choices are 25%.

I would ask them situation questions, such as: What would you do if you knew a fellow teammate was using illegal substances? or if an underclassmen was being bullied by the older athletes. Put them on the spot and see if they can handle the responsibility of having such a high role.

When I coached high school, we looked for someone who seems to naturally help the other girls. Someone who we can trust to go over chants while the coaches do other stuff, or someone who will kinda take responsibility for getting things prepared for games and stuff. I don't look for skill. Obviously they shouldn't be a terrible cheerleader, but my captain last year...well her jumps were gross :p but that didn't matter because she was an amazing captain. Also try to pick someone who's an upperclassman and everyone gets along with.

I look for key qualities that I believe my captains need such as:
Leadership (who can motivate the team, have a great attitude and be a role model....in school AND outside school)
Responsibility (are they on time with what they need to have/where they need to be, can I count on them to get tasks done)