All-Star Cheersport Scoring

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Dec 14, 2009
I may be the only one (and feel free to let me know, it won't offend me) who thinks that the scoring at Cheersport was very.....weird (for lack of a better word). There seemed to be a lot of teams that hit and still placed lower than teams that dropped/busted. I understand start values/raw scores and all that jazz, but I noticed one division where a team was in 1st day one (hit cleanly) and then day 2 had multiple bobbles at least one dropped stunt (not bobble, the flyer's foot touched the ground) there may have been two, I can't remember. That team dropped to second for finals. Other teams that hit were getting 3rd-6th even though they hit, and had less than 1 pt difference in raw score.
I also didn't understand deductions for busted tumbling. As a coach I had an athlete bust (knees hit the ground) and we got NO deduction! I don't understand. Did the judges just not see it? (which is insane) it just made me wonder how many things they missed.

Not totally unrelated: there were also A LOT of come from behind victories! One division had a team in 6th or 7th day one WIN day 2 but only move up to 5th overall.

CONGRATS TO ALL THE CHEERSPORT CHAMPIONS!!! And great job to ALL athletes and coaches!!!

CHEERSPORT's scoring is 50/50. Like I said earlier, I dislike that because placements from Day 1 rarely change even if the performances were drastically different. That team that you mentioned with multiple bobbles and a stunt fall had a high day 1 score. average the 2 and they're still in second place. The teams getting 3rd - 6th with a better day 2 may not have had a great day 1. Their bad score is weighted just as heavily as their good score.

I don't like cheersport for that reason, and plenty of people love cheersport for that exact reason. it is what it is.