All-Star Competing Individually?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

justpeachy

Cheer Parent
Mar 26, 2010
Can y'all help me out with some pros and cons of competing individually?

My daughter is asking to do an individual only next year, and I want to help her make an informed decision.

Maybe I should elaborate. She is asking to compete individually only. She does not want to cheer on an all star team this season, though she is planning to try out rec cheer.

Any thoughts?

Well I have been doing individuals for about 7 or 8 years now and I love it. It gives me a chance to show my "True colors" and its cool because my coach lets me pick out my music, my jump sequence, and each of my tumbling passes. I always have themes doing my individual as well like 2 years ago I did the whole 80s rock theme and last year I did my whole routine to the movie Burlesque. I think that if your daughter wants to try and individual you should let her.

My daughter competed individually for several years as well as with her all star program. Even though it was exciting and wonderful, it didn't compare to the excitement and bond that she shared with her team mates. What fun is it to compete at a competition without having your team mates cheering you on?
Unless you compete at a pagent style cheer comp for individuals it is really is hard to a comp that offers individuals on a serious note. I've been to several in the past that you end up the only one in the division, high entry fees to win a cheesy crappy prize etc. I can only think of maybe 3 in the country that are prestigious enough to even bother with.( IMO)