High School High School Tryouts

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Feb 18, 2016
I am a veteran coach (7 years) at the school where I teach. I am comfortable with having my tryouts judged by outside judges. However, my district really doesn't want me anywhere near the tryout room/process and it is very frustrating to me. Is this a typical practice?

I judge tryouts in Kansas and in one of the districts, the coaches can't see the tryouts, the scoresheets have to be tabulated by people not associated with cheer and the coaches aren't able to see who made the team until after the process is done and the team is already picked. I always feel really bad for the kids and coaches in that situation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am a parent. I think the coach should have some say who is on their team. You wouldn't let the football, basketball, soccer, etc…coaches not pick their team.

The coach or coaches should be on the judging panel.

I have experienced some very biased coaches. I am fine with some outside judges because of this.

I am a parent. I think the coach should have some say who is on their team. You wouldn't let the football, basketball, soccer, etc…coaches not pick their team.

The coach or coaches should be on the judging panel.

I have experienced some very biased coaches. I am fine with some outside judges because of this.
You are right on the other teams. Can you imagine the football coach being told that he cannot choose his team or have any input whatsoever??? :)

Do they do this because some coaches (inadvertently) are biased either in favor or against certain athletes? I am just curious, my cp is in middle school. She made school cheer this year, and I think they had an outside panel. I could imagine it would be tempting to score down an athlete who was a PITA to the coach all season, but the outside panels keep it all about the skills.