How Much Do You Have To Weigh To Be A Flyer?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Nov 20, 2012
I'm 5'4" and weight 120 pounds. Is that too much to be a flyer? I'm trying to lose weight, tho.

honestly, i'm a base. i've lifted girls that are my weight and bigger, and i've lifted girls that are less than half my weight. Even girls half my weight felt like cows and a girl my weight or a tiny bit less, she felt like a feather. the tighter the lighter.

This is great to know. I'm new to cheerleading and I'm 4'10.5" and my weight fluctuates about ten pounds. It's crazy--it just switches up and down. But I want to train to be a flyer.

Not that I'm giving advice because I'm not experienced but here's what I know.

I did do cheerleading kind of when I was younger. I.E. summer camp and the class I tried to start at my school, which failed since it was a small, private one. We did start a 'fake' squad for the sports but the school didn't support it. Anyway, we just did pyramids because we were untrained--kind of dangerous. I was probably around 60lbs then and 4'9 since it was fifth grade. Maybe less but I was both a 'top of the pyramid' and a base(?). Sorry, don't know the terms. Needless to say, I was a smallest girl on the 'team' but I managed to hold others up.