I Need Advice! Help With Teenagers!

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jan 12, 2011
I have been coaching in our all star program since it started 5 years ago. When it started we had a core group of 9&10 year old years. Now those same girls are 14 & 15 and they are AWFUL! They come into the gym with terrible attitudes and REFUSE to work as a team. They are very talented but have no heart. I have tried everything, team building activities, being nice, being mean, being flexible, being strict, new coaches, new members, nothing has helped. I dont know what to do about it. The coaching staff are unhappy, the girls are unhappy and the season is turning out miserable. We are actually considering not having a senior team at all next year. HELP!

i was on a team exactly like this, what you have to do is not act like a friend, act like coach. If you don't act like a friend in the first place, then you should kick them out when they act like selfish jerks. Cause this sounds like a team with little respect for eachother and sometimes these girls won't change. i don't want to sound harsh, this is just from experience with a recent gym i cheered at. My new coach, she doesn't play favorites, and maybe you have favorites with some of the girls youve known for the 5 years. Also, my new coach is VERY strict, if you don't abide by her rules she will let you know and sometimes this scares people and puts them in their place. Don't let the girls walk all over you, show them whose boss.