Legality Quizzes?

Discussion in 'Skills' started by Jessica Lynn, Mar 2, 2016.

  1. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Just wondering if anyone else does the legality quizzes on the usasf rules website? I like to do them but never have anyone to chat them over with!

     
  2. SarahS

    SarahS Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,718
    Shimmys Received:
    4,864
    Location:
    Virginia
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I do, but find it distressing how often the most popular answer is incorrect. I'm really, really happy that USASF is doing them, though - they're really helpful!
     
    • Shimmy Shimmy x 3
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • List
  3. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    I know what you mean! But when they explain it it always makes sense! What do you think about the one that's up now?
     
  4. Michael White

    Michael White I text ACEDAD all the time

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Shimmys Received:
    306
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    The level 5 tumbling one? My first instincts were that B and C were legal, but after thinking about it, I'm not so sure. The rule states that a twisting skill involving more than 1 twist, (IE, double full) must be immediately preceded by a minimum of two backward traveling, non twisting tumbling skills, one of which must be a back handspring.

    Now does that mean if you did five backward traveling skills and one was a handspring, (handspring, whip, whip, whip, whip, double full) would that still count? Or does immediately preceded mean that one of two of the backward traveling skills before the double full need to be a handspring?
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2016
  5. cheer25mom

    cheer25mom Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,882
    Shimmys Received:
    4,726
    I am a(n)...:
    Parent
    I am confused by that, because the give the examples of
    BHS, BHS, full, BHS, double
    BHS, BHS, double, BHS, double
    as both legal in standing tumbling.

    they seem to contradict the rules, but they say that a second twisting skill in the same pass is an exception to needing 2 nontwisting skills before it. So you need 2 backward traveling non twisting skills only before the first twist.
     
  6. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    That's what I'm thinking which has my first instinct to be that only B and C (The BHS whip BHS whip double and the BHS BHS double whip double) are legal. Because for A as you mentioned the rules state the two skills IMMEDIATELY preceding the double twist must be backward traveling, non-twisting and one must be a backhand. So A has two whips before the double making it illegal. B has a BHS and a whip before the double which follow the rules, making it legal. For C, as @cheer25mom mentioned, there is an exception for a second twisting skill exceeding 1 twist and that is that only the first one has to be preceded by the two non-twisting backward traveling skills (one of which is a BHS), which makes C also legal (BHS BHS double whip double). Thoughts!?
     
  7. Michael White

    Michael White I text ACEDAD all the time

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Shimmys Received:
    306
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I meant B and C
     
  8. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    This was confusing for me too! Standing tumbling D states:
    D. (In standing tumbling only) skills involving more than one twist (i.e. Double fulls) must be immediately preceded by a minimum of two backward traveling, non-twisting tumbling skills. One of these two skills must be a back handspring.

    Then it goes on to clarify that if an athlete is performing a second double full within the one standing tumbling pass, then they do no have to satisfy D. So the BHS BHS double BHS double is legal. But you're right the confusing part was that D only refers to double fulls so at the very bottom that clarification about the single full (if the requirements of standing tumbling D are met before a single full then any twisting skills after that also are exempt from standing tumbling D) is what makes the BHS BHS single BHS double example they give legal.

    Tumbling is the most confusing haha!
     
  9. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Yeah I agree! I think it does mean the two skills right before the double.
     
  10. Michael White

    Michael White I text ACEDAD all the time

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Shimmys Received:
    306
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I guess we'll see! :)
     
  11. DaniV

    DaniV There are Cheeropedia articles about me!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,441
    Shimmys Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Web:
    Twitter:
    danivav
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I love these! I always do them when they're sent out. I agree it stresses me out to see the majority answer being wrong all time lol.
    The tumbling one for this week I had to look up in the rules because I'm not super familiar with the in's and out's of level 5 standing.

    We actually used one of those quizzes at our first competition in December to argue a legality call for level 1 prep lib and won.
     
  12. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    I definitely don't envy legality judges. The more you dive into it, the more confusing it all seems! And different people interpret the rules different ways or to mean different things! What were your thoughts on the answer for this week's quiz?
     
  13. DaniV

    DaniV There are Cheeropedia articles about me!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,441
    Shimmys Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Web:
    Twitter:
    danivav
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I had B and C passes as being legal.
    **Doubles need to be directly preceded by 2 backwards non-twisting skills, one of which must be a BHS

    A - BHS BHS whip whip double > illegal because one of the two skills directly before the double isn't a BHS
    B - BHS whip BHS whip double > legal because one of the two skills directly before the double is a BHS
    C - BHS BHS double whip double > legal. The first double is preceded by two skills and at least one is a BHS. The second double only needs to follow the first 3 rules of standing tumbling (no exceeding a double twist, no twisting skills before the double, and no twisting skills after the double). All of those are followed.
     
  14. Michael White

    Michael White I text ACEDAD all the time

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Shimmys Received:
    306
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    The bold is where my confusion lies. I'm 99% sure it means one of the two skills before the double must be a handspring because of the next sentence, but the wording confuses me for no reason.

    From the USASF Rules:

    (In standing tumbling only) skills involving more than one twist (i.e. Double fulls) must be immediately preceded by a minimum of two backward traveling, non-twisting tumbling skills. One of these two skills must be a back handspring.

    I think it should be worded. "One of the two skills that immediately precede the double full must be a handspring." That would eliminate all doubt, but I think it's pretty obvious how it's worded now, but can confuse you at first glance.
     
  15. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Ahhh I see what you're saying! I know you said that above but I didn't quite understand what you meant! That is confusing and a good point. So does that mean that you can do BHS whip whip whip double? There is a minimum of 2 backward traveling, non-twisting tumbling skills and one of them IS a BHS! Touche Michael White, touche! I'm not really sure what to make of that? But this is why I like talking these things over!

    Yeah I see what you mean.. it's the second part of that that somewhat clears doubt on whether its the two skills immediately before the double. It's meaning to say that you can do more than 2 backward non-twisting skills but of the two immediately before the double, one must be a BHS. but the minimum of two wording is confusing for sure! If you dont think it all the way through! I get what you're saying!
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2016