Legality Quizzes?

Discussion in 'Skills' started by Jessica Lynn, Mar 2, 2016.

  1. Michael White

    Michael White I Fierce Board instead of work/study

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Shimmys Received:
    354
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    3. Downward inversions must maintain contact with an original base.

    Exception: The original base may lose contact with the top person when it becomes necessary to do so.

    Example: cartwheel-style transition dismounts

    4. Downward inversions from above prep level:
    b. May not land on or touch the ground while inverted.

    She's either inverting all the way to the ground from base 1, illegal with two catchers. H.4.B.

    Or, inverting from prep level off of base 2, legal. H.3.
     
  2. Emily

    Emily International Cheer Correspondent Staff Member National Champion

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,239
    Shimmys Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Germany
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    To make my hint more understandable: the video shows a dismount ;)
     
  3. Michael White

    Michael White I Fierce Board instead of work/study

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Shimmys Received:
    354
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I don't know if I would qualify it as a dismount though a dismount by definition must be a cradle or a release and assist to the performing surface. I may be wrong.

    "Note: Movements are only considered “Dismounts” if released to a cradle or released and assisted to the performing surface."
     
  4. luv2cheer92

    luv2cheer92 Moderator Staff Member Bracket Winner Video Curator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,917
    Shimmys Received:
    10,826
    Location:
    DFW
    Web:
    I am a(n)...:
    Athlete
    I say legal, to me it looks like the inversion starts below prep level which then wouldn't require 3 bases.
     
  5. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    go to usasfrules.com and under news there is a quizzes section! :)
     
  6. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    It wouldn't be considered a dismount because as @Michael White mentioned "Note: Movements are only considered “Dismounts” if released to a cradle or released and assisted to the performing surface." The stunt doesn't go to cradle and is never released.

    An inversion by definition is
    "When the athlete’s shoulders are below her/his waist and at least one foot is above her/his head."

    Stunts H 2.
    Clarification: Downward inversions originating from prep level or below do not require three bases. If the stunt begins at prep level or below and becomes inverted above prep level it requires 3 bases. (The momentum of the top person coming down is the primary safety concern.)

    So where the stunt doesn't become inverted until she is at prep level. I feel you're right in saying it is legal!

    As a side note the base who remains in contact with the foot never stops moving. I.e. the stunt never hits extenstion. I know at level 4 that is the rule of thumb for waterfall/pancake stunts. They are allowed to pass through extended as long as there is no definitive stop, and the judges watch the bases hands to determine this.
     
  7. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Agree! Now to wait until Friday haha!
     
  8. Michael White

    Michael White I Fierce Board instead of work/study

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Shimmys Received:
    354
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I learned to be very cautious, although I coach a J1 team, our level SC4 was hit with an illegal pancake because as the judges said "the flyer was at extension level" even though there was no stop.
     
  9. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Yeah it's definitely a grey area for sure! Depends on what judges you have! I coach a level 4 team and it was competition to competition either a warning or no warning for them!
     
  10. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Didn't see this until now. So they haven't posted the reasoning yet but it is illegal. So it must be in reference to H4b! So confusing because she is very clearly not inverted before prep and the side base doesn't even really hit an extended position. It will be interesting to see the reasoning behind it being illegal!
     
  11. Michael White

    Michael White I Fierce Board instead of work/study

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Shimmys Received:
    354
    Location:
    Hermon, Maine
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I had a hunch from the beginning that it'd be illegal by H4b, but it could certainly be argued both ways! Interpretations like this can cause headaches when judges deem it legal by H3 at the first two competitions, and then in the third, you get a violation by H4b, and try to fight it and you don't win.
     
  12. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Oh I know what you mean! I feel like there will always be a grey area with downward inversions!
     
  13. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    So they admit our reasonings for thinking it's legal (the fact that it is initiated below prep and doesn't become inverted until prep level). But because she passes through extended, that's what makes it illegal. I was thinking about how you are allowed to pass through extended at level 4 but after looking that is an exception to the downward inversions and it only applies to two footed pancakes. The skill in that video is a one footed downward inversion and isn't pancake style. This is why I like talking these through with people! So many sneaky things! I find I really have to get out of the habit of lumping things into the same categories just because they are called the same things!
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  14. DanaBurkey

    DanaBurkey I shimmy daily

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Shimmys Received:
    141
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    Web:
    Twitter:
    DanaCBurkey
    I am a(n)...:
    Fan
    Wow! I am so glad I found this thread! I didn't know there were quizzes, and when I needed info I would read everything over and over and try to make sure I knew what it was talking about and everything. It will be much more helpful for me to see it and then understand it!
     
  15. Jessica Lynn

    Jessica Lynn Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Shimmys Received:
    35
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Definitely! They are really helpful for understanding the rules! There have t been any for a while as every year they revamp the rules a little bit so some skills that were illegal last year are now legal. New quizzes will probably start up in the next coming weeks!