Level 1 And 3

Discussion in 'Is this legal?' started by AliciaM, Nov 27, 2016.

  1. AliciaM

    AliciaM I'm an announcer on CBS for Worlds (or should be)

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Shimmys Received:
    1,330
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    One of our level 1 and my level 3 team have a "stunt" in the dance need clarification. Under stunt rules "F" it states that you may not go over another person but that's only for a stunt section rather than in a dance? We've done it before but another coach mentioned it saying we can't do that but we did last year and didn't have an issue. Video is attached of the actual dance section in question.


    Thanks!

     
  2. DaniV

    DaniV There are Cheeropedia articles about me!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,565
    Shimmys Received:
    1,917
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Web:
    Twitter:
    danivav
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Stunts can happen at any point in the routine regardless of the section.

    That is considered a stunt since someone is weight-baring of another athlete. I know stepping up and over one nugget-ed base would be fine but I'm not sure about the hopping from one to the other.

    Did the other coach say why you can't do it?
     
  3. Quotation

    Quotation I make my own voiceovers

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    169
    Shimmys Received:
    249
    Location:
    Canada
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    I can't see it being an issue. while technically this could be considered moving under a stunt I doubt any judge would give you a legality for it, as it can be seen as a "transitional element" rather than an actual stunt. one of the teams at my gym has a transition where the bases lift the flyer, she does a kick, and the backspot rolls underneath her kick. This could be considered a stunt but judges would look at it as a transitional element or creative entry into a stunt.
     
  4. retiredl5cheer

    retiredl5cheer Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,756
    Shimmys Received:
    5,703
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Nooooo. If it's against the rules, it's against the rules. The rules aren't up for interpretation depending on the part of the routine or the "intent" of the element. If the rules show that it's illegal, just don't do it.
     
  5. XtremeWpg

    XtremeWpg I have my own cheer message board

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,309
    Shimmys Received:
    2,361
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Technically then isn't it a release changing bases?
     
  6. AliciaM

    AliciaM I'm an announcer on CBS for Worlds (or should be)

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Shimmys Received:
    1,330
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    I emailed the legality person for Cheer Evolution (canada) and it's legal because they make contact with the "bases" who are in a nugget in the floor. If they didn't make contact it would be considered illegal.

    I asked here too just in case I didn't get a response back promptly as we compete this weekend but she emailed the next day.
     
  7. cheer25mom

    cheer25mom Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,500
    Shimmys Received:
    5,770
    I am a(n)...:
    Parent
    This makes sense to me because both nuggets would be considered bases in a single stunt and the girls with the arms would be spotters.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  8. Nikki Moore

    Nikki Moore I nugget in the back

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Shimmys Received:
    292
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Twitter:
    Nixxy311
    I am a(n)...:
    Parent
    Last year our Level 1 did just the stepping up and over one girl. This year we have a girl going up and stepping on about 4 girls while two girls hold her arms. Glad to hear it's legal :)
     
  9. JJA

    JJA I'm new. Don't Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Shimmys Received:
    12
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    The key when you read that rule is "no stunt (which is what that is), pyramid or individual may move over or under another SEPARATE, stunt pyramid or individual." Torso over torso.

    If you make contact with the stunt, you are considered a part of that stunt and no longer considered separate. :)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk