Level 3 Inversion

Discussion in 'Is this legal?' started by embersglow, Dec 13, 2016.

  1. embersglow

    embersglow I nugget in the back

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Shimmys Received:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Twitter:
    charparr
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Is the below position legal in L3? The inversion rules get more complicated every year I'm sure.

    If it is legal, would it be possible for the bases to throw her feet backwards over the backspot's head and catch in prone? Trying to find ways to dismount.

    Thanks!

    [​IMG]

     
  2. NJ Coach

    NJ Coach 10's Across the Board....literally. Staff Member National Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,349
    Shimmys Received:
    19,670
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    That's legal for level 2 as it is not an inversion.

    and yes, if you went from that position and the bases threw her over it would be legal for L3
     
  3. embersglow

    embersglow I nugget in the back

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Shimmys Received:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Twitter:
    charparr
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    Perfect, thanks so much. Am I right in thinking raising one leg would make it an inversion?
     
  4. NJ Coach

    NJ Coach 10's Across the Board....literally. Staff Member National Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,349
    Shimmys Received:
    19,670
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Correct
     
  5. meetmeat_themat

    meetmeat_themat I shimmy daily

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Shimmys Received:
    119
    I am a(n)...:
    Athlete
    What makes this not an inversion? Just out of interest in the legalities for level 2, I thought any head lower than hip stunts were inversions?
     
  6. luv2cheer92

    luv2cheer92 Moderator Staff Member Bracket Winner Video Curator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8,358
    Shimmys Received:
    14,005
    Location:
    DFW
    Web:
    I am a(n)...:
    Athlete
    The definition is: "When the athlete’s shoulders are below her/his waist and at least one foot is above her/his head"
    So since neither foot is above the head, it isn't inverted.
     
  7. JJA

    JJA I'm new. Don't Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Shimmys Received:
    12
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    While everything above is correct. Ensure that at no point the base holding the hands lifts the flyer above prep level, if that occurs, it becomes illegal. The only way to know 100% is to send a video in to the USASF.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk