Level 4 Baskets

Discussion in 'Is this legal?' started by lovely.lily, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. lovely.lily

    lovely.lily I shimmy daily

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Shimmys Received:
    149
    I am a(n)...:
    Athlete
    So, I have a couple questions regarding the legal bits & bobs of baskets.

    I know the highest skill you can throw for Lv.4 is a double or kick single. But is there anything else that would look crazy impressive and still partially max out the score sheet? Also, I was wondering if a tuck arch full down would be legal? Seeing as a tuck arch is legal for Level 3. And one last question; for L4 tosses, does the flyer have to dismount before re-loading for another basket? For example, could a stunt group throw a double, bounce back to the basket without setting the top down and then throw another double/skill?

    Thanks so much!

     
  2. NJ Coach

    NJ Coach 10's Across the Board....literally. Staff Member National Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,356
    Shimmys Received:
    19,682
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Any 2 trick tosses will keep you in range. The judges want to see variety. Pike pretty girls, toe singles, tuck singles ect will all help your score.

    Yes, a flyer can reload and throw another toss.
     
  3. FierceIsTheName

    FierceIsTheName Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,081
    Shimmys Received:
    4,756
    Location:
    Washington
    I am a(n)...:
    Retired From Cheer
    My favorites to see are toe touch full. I think they look so cool and they seem pretty difficult!
     
  4. ilikebigbows

    ilikebigbows Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,473
    Shimmys Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Muncie, IN.
    I am a(n)...:
    Retired From Cheer
    We did ball fulls, and I've seen full toe. I love a gorgeous double full basket, but they're hard to make look good!
     
  5. lovely.lily

    lovely.lily I shimmy daily

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Shimmys Received:
    149
    I am a(n)...:
    Athlete
    Awesome, thanks for all the great ideas everyone!
    @NJ Coach , just to clarify on the tuck fulls, with the arch would it become illegal? Or, is it fine as long as the flyer doesn't hyper-extend backwards too much? :) And one last thing, now that I think of it, would an around-the world full down be considered legal for L4? Thanks again!
     
  6. NJ Coach

    NJ Coach 10's Across the Board....literally. Staff Member National Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,356
    Shimmys Received:
    19,682
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I don't know about the arch. A true around the world full would be 3 tricks in my opinion.


    The Fierce Board App! || iPhone || Android
     
  7. lovely.lily

    lovely.lily I shimmy daily

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Shimmys Received:
    149
    I am a(n)...:
    Athlete
    Thanks, that was what I was thinking too. I think we'll stick with the tuck single. :)