Newbie In Wv

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jan 27, 2015
This is my first year coaching. I cheered for 6 years and danced for 2 I am coaching Rec league and the girls ages are 4-11. I already have the competition mix made and I am in the process of teaching it to the girls now. But I am stunned on the cheer. I am not one to make up cheers, I just used the ones I remembered from when I was young. I am coaching the "Heat" (team name) and our colors are maroon and white. I would like to do a 30 second floor cheer so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

We watched some rec teams compete recently and only 1 even did a cheer? I know way back it was required but have moved onto All-star is a cheer still required for rec???

Depends on what brands you're competing. A cheer isn't required & is rarely performed for teams that compete at all star competitions. If it's a Pop Warner style routine, maybe a cheer is required?

We watched some rec teams compete recently and only 1 even did a cheer? I know way back it was required but have moved onto All-star is a cheer still required for rec???
I was supposed to be assistant coach for this team but the head coach took on a new job that won't work with our cheerleading schedule so I took over. She said last year the rules said to have a floor cheer and a dance. So I am guessing our Rec is a little different.

I was supposed to be assistant coach for this team but the head coach took on a new job that won't work with our cheerleading schedule so I took over. She said last year the rules said to have a floor cheer and a dance. So I am guessing our Rec is a little different.