All-Star Number Of Stunt Groups... Does It Matter?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 14, 2017
As I’m studying the top teams, I’m wondering: how much does the the number of stunt groups per team matter in each size division (ex: 2 vs. 3 in ex-small)?

I know technically it shouldn’t matter since the reason we have size divisions is to fairly group teams by numbers, but then again a viable strategy in cheer is to be in the upper end of your size division to max out girls in the air because that can add points (in HS anyway... don’t know about AS).

So does it really matter? I’m thinking specifically of CJA vs. Miss Silver in ex-small. One has three groups and then other has two, respectively. I’m wondering if it gives CJA a distinct edge.

Technically, no. Thats why they have ratios and the majority/most based on the number of athletes on the team. Visually, yes it matters.

Though for Worlds its a wreck because the rubrics all go out the window

Yeah but then I thought: if the ratio is the great equalizer, then you could throw SSX against F5 and it shouldn’t matter. But clearly those two teams aren’t the same. Even within a size division, three stunt groups denotes more talented girls than two stunt groups, therefore the team with three groups is the stronger team (if “stronger” = “winning”). This gray area has always confused me.

Last edited:
As far as difficulty and technique scores, if they do the exact same thing in the exact same way, they get the same score, no matter 1 group or 9. Though you have more opportunity to do visual and creative things with more people on the mat, not just in stunts, hence why x-small and large wouldn't be scored equally.