Music Picking Out Every Song For Music -_-

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jan 23, 2011
Ok not to sound rude because I do understand that not every gym can afford JR,Kyle,or Chat music but the ones who can...why do some insist on choosing every song for their teams mixes...I feel like if your using a particular music mixer, you should trust their judgment and let their creative abilities come out in your mix...I feel like this is what they do for a living thus, they cant be too bad at it...of course picking out your dance song and maybe your pyramid song is common but picking out every song...I feel like your hindering opportunities just my opinion of course

As a music producer I love when teams give me song suggestions. Sometimes I find a song that may be popular on the east coast is not on the west coast or the flow or feel I get from their 8 count sheets is not the same flow or feel that they were hoping for. Bottom line is that I want to make music that the client wants and that is what keeps them coming back year after year.

i totally agree with @nichos it's very helpful to see what the team had in mind already, and work with it. It doesn't always work, occasionally we'll talk to our clients about using a different song for a specific section because one they picked maybe isn't flowing as well, and because this is what we do full time and have an ear for music generally we are able to find another song that still represents the team but flows better. All in all it is very helpful having that song list, cuz in the end we want the customer to be happy and knowing that the majority of our clients get their song lists by asking their kids means that the more that we're able to mix what they originally asked for, the happier the kids will be! That's the thought anyway lol

@SlapFire how do you feel?