Progressing In Stunting

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jun 16, 2013
I have been coaching a youth team for a few months now. Almost all of them have back handsprings now and I'm really hoping we can be level 2 for this season. However, I'm having trouble with them progressing in stunting. It seems like when they're stunting they lose focus and we aren't able to get very far. They can do level one stunts and their technique is pretty good. One of the reasons I think they are unable to perform harder stunts is because the top girls and the bases are all close to the same size. I need some tips on how to help their stunting progress. Any advice would be appreciated!

-Try playing PIG (one group dose a stint if a group can't do it the get a P when they have the word PIG they are out) I find this works well as they will want to nail harder stunts to win.
- With the size issue it shouldn't affect to much on my squad we are all the same size and have flyers bigger than bases, you just have to have flyers with good body control and technique and it should be fine.

IMO, size seems to have much more of an effect at the mini/youth level than with older teams. That effect is intensified when they are inexperienced. I do think it plays a part in how difficult it is to progress stunts. I am watching that play out in CP's team right now. Her stunt group is struggling a little more than the others because she has brand new bases that are the same size as their flyer. She is the back spot and is a head taller than everyone else. If their back spot was the same size, I highly doubt they would be successful at this point.