School Cheer Tryouts With No Experience?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jan 29, 2016
To start off, I don't really know where to go but here, so sorry for my lack of knowledge,

Anyway, so my cheer tryouts are after spring break (late April) and I have no experience and or tumbling skills. (Which is really bad.. I know)
I've asked my cheer friends ( we aren't close enough to ask for help ) what they do at tryouts and there they do a dance, a few cheers, 2 jumps (one of your choice, and a toe touch.) , and then if you can do any tumbling you can do that at the end.

Meanwhile I have trouble even holding myself up in a bridge, and my toe touch sucks because I'm having trouble rolling my hips. I really want to be on the team because I love the sport a lot, and it's the last year I can cheer in middle school. I know one girl on the team isn't very good at anything besides a bhs, and she can't do the cheers or dances even.

Does anyone have any advice and or tips to help me? I'm willing to work hard I just have no idea where to start.

Edit: posted this on a seperate forum to another person, but a lot still applies to you!

"I was the same except I started with nothing. After a couple of years though I'm a lot better.

START STRETCHING NOW. How well you perform handsprings and jumps are very dependent on how flexible you are. I've always been pretty flexible, but it took me six weeks to get to where I am now, (middle split, right side split, a bridge that actually looks decent.)

As some others have said, they look at you as an asset in the future (obviously dependent on how well you tumble now). Don't be discouraged if you're an alternate. Don't think people are attacking you, they're probably going to be talking at you like you should have an idea what you're doing, just shake it off, but try and use that criticism to your advantage.