Sideline Report With Taia Johnson

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

E

Editor

Read Full Article...

Hey everyone! My name is Taia Johnson and I am a sophomore at the University of Kansas. Here at KU, this past weekend was full of some of our student’s most favorite traditions. On Friday night, we kicked off the official start to basketball season with “Late Night in the Phog” aka Midnight Madness. Then Saturday, we cheered on our football team as they played Oklahoma State University.
Early Friday morning, students, parents, alumni, and Jayhawk fans began lining up outside of Allen Fieldhouse, awaiting the 6:30 pm start of Late Night in the Phog. Midnight Madness takes place in universities all over the country, but as the cradle of basketball, Kansas puts a lot of emphasis and pride into our basketball program.

This years’ Late Night was exceptionally anticipated because ESPN was there filming to get footage for the next “30 for 30” documentary. As cheerleaders, we start off Late Night by performing a routine that we have been preparing for the past few weeks.
latenight1-528x265.jpg

After meeting up in our locker room, and adding last minute touches, like our Jayhawk face tattoos and red lipstick, we went into Allen Fieldhouse to warm up our routine before all the fans entered. As Late Night began, we took the floor and performed in front of 16,300 fans. The best part was hearing the crowd roar when we throw our traditional “K-A-N-S-A-S” basket tosses. You can watch the video on our Facebook page at http://facebook.com/kucheer

For the rest of Late Night, some of our the squad members stayed on the court to cheer on the men’s and women’s basketball teams as they scrimmaged. Late Night truly captures all of the pride I have when cheering for the University of Kansas, and the basketball videos that show our amazing basketball tradition always give me goosebumps!