OT Small College Vs Big College

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Off Topic
Dec 14, 2009
okay, so i applied to a ton of colleges(17 to be exact) and i have a range of different sizes too, ranging from 25 thousand students to 1500 students. i was wondering if you guys have a preference for a big school or a small school? i can't decide which one i like. are there pros and cons for each? any advice on this?

one thing to consider is class sizes... at a smaller college, you'll get a little more one on one time/help with your professors. at a big school, you'll be in huge lecture halls with a ton of people

It all depends on your needs. I started at a big college and most of my classes were in huge lecture halls with hundreds of students and I found myself struggling. After one year, I transferred to a smaller school and it was a much better learning environment for me. My grades improved drastically and I graduated with honors. Everybody learns differently so it all depends on what you prefer as your learning style. Good Luck :)

it is not true that a big school equals big lectures. you often have discussion classes where its around 25 people, and there are many times throughout the week where you can talk one and one with your professor. i go to a school with 40,000 people and feel like i am not just a number. its the effort that you put into it that matters.