All-Star To All Adults Affiliated With All-star Cheer, Dance Or Gymnastics; Research Help

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Dec 16, 2010
I need ideas for research!

If you know me, you know that along with being a Judge, I’m also a Kindergarten teacher, and a Graduate student at Texas A&M University and with the combined efforts of my fellow cheerleader psychology friends, we have been testing for my thesis for about 5 years now.

My thesis is the following:
The effects of gymnastic and gymnastic related sports (choreographed sports) on the mind of developing children.

Keep in mind, I am presenting this as a psychology based research, and will only be testing and presenting effects on cognition, IQ, response time, memorization and things related to the mind ONLY.

I have already tested SEVERAL hypotheses and found some AMAZING results!
Some of the research and testing I have done has shown the following:
-There is a direct positive correlation between children whom actively participate in choreographed sports, and above average IQ levels.
-Learning choreographed dances has shown to directly and immediately increase children’s memory capacity.
-93% of children that actively participate in choreographed sports were considered above average students in both behavior, and academics. Whereas the 26% of children whom had never participated in any choreographed sports.
These are just a few of the numerous studies we have done!

The reason for me posting this here is that I have been working on testing several hypotheses’ but I need more ideas! If your parent/coach… or anyone that observes kids behavior and grades…. Or even if you think you might have a valid hypothesis…. what benefits or disadvantages do you think cheerleading/dance/gymnastics has on the mind of developing children?

Thanks and Gig'em!
-Jenna

its been a while since my psychology days.