Too Tall To Fly???

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 30, 2020
hi im 13, 5'4, and 125 pounds. It has been my dream to do cheer forever and especially to fly. i tried out for a team and the coach said i was "too big to fly" Ive based before too but i really hate being a base and i already have a needle and have a really strong core ive been practicing for 3 years jusst so I could fly on my schools comp team and now i have to base. i will still do cheer next season but all the girls on my team are lke 4 11. I love cheer but hate basing, any advice??

You're not too big to fly, but you may be too big to fly on this specific team. I've had great flyers have to move to basing/backing because they got older and grew, and younger smaller kids joined the team. It didn't mean those kids never flew again, just not that year. If all of the other girls are that much smaller, it will be less likely that there are people to base you.

If you truly love cheer, you'd be willing to learn to base. The more you can do to help your team, the better athlete you are for them. Learn to be a triple threat (base/back/fly) if you can. If this is something you truly want to be a part of, it may be in a way you weren't expecting (ie. basing). Learn everything you can and push to be the best base possible as that attitude will stand out more in your coaches mind than your needle or strong core for future years.

Hey!

Basing can be totally fun, if you let it. At one point or another, of course we’ve all wanted to fly; but basing gives you strength and muscle that flying never will. I know you love flying, but you should give basing a chance. Every position is important and special.