All-Star Tumbling Advice Please

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 9, 2016
Hi all,

I've always been terrified to do any kind of acrobatics/tumbling due to having balance issues as a child.

I've been cheering for about 1,5 years now, and at my gym,we are starting to focus more on tumbling.

It took me roughly about a year to
" get over "my anxiety and I am now able to cartwheel. It isn't perfect yet but it's a big step for me.

Now that I'm not longer scared of doing cartwheels,I find that being unable to do handstands due to being terrified of them is holding me back.
And it's frustrating to me, because I Know, I'm holding myself back and honestly I don't know what to do about it.
On a good day I can attempt them and get as far as kicking up both of my feet, on a bad day I won't try because I'm freaking myself out, and knowing that I'm doing it. :/

Are there any coaches on here,that have worked with older athletes (I'm 21) and having to start tumbling from scratch ?
Do you have tips, drills to practice, any advice is greatly appreciated!

I have acces to an trampoline park near my house,but at practice we only have a tumble mat, like shown on the picture.

search

Hi all,

I've always been terrified to do any kind of acrobatics/tumbling due to having balance issues as a child.

I've been cheering for about 1,5 years now, and at my gym,we are starting to focus more on tumbling.

" get over "my anxiety and I am now able to cartwheel. It isn't perfect yet but it's a big step for me.

Now that I'm not longer scared of doing cartwheels,I find that being unable to do handstands due to being terrified of them is holding me back.
And it's frustrating to me, because I Know, I'm holding myself back and honestly I don't know what to do about it.
On a good day I can attempt them and get as far as kicking up both of my feet, on a bad day I won't try because I'm freaking myself out, and knowing that I'm doing it. :/