What's The Difference Between A Main Base And A Side Base?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Aug 21, 2012
I'm just starting out as a cheerleader and I just wanted to know what the difference between a main base a side base is. If anyone could help me out, that'd be great! :)

*Really the only difference is the way you grip the flyers foot, for more detail see below:)*

In a typical stunt, a main base would be on the right side of the flyer. A side base on the left, but if you are doing a two legged stunt i.e. elevator/extension there really is no difference between them! One legged stunts can vary by the difficulty of the stunt. A generic liberty is the same grip for the main base, but with the side base you just grip the middle/arch of the foot, versus gripping the heel and the toe when basing a two legged stunt! Hope that this helped!

*Really the only difference is the way you grip the flyers foot, for more detail see below:)*

In a typical stunt, a main base would be on the right side of the flyer. A side base on the left, but if you are doing a two legged stunt i.e. elevator/extension there really is no difference between them! One legged stunts can vary by the difficulty of the stunt. A generic liberty is the same grip for the main base, but with the side base you just grip the middle/arch of the foot, versus gripping the heel and the toe when basing a two legged stunt! Hope that this helped!

Thank you so much! That definitely helped! :)

we call it a 'secondary base', and I think of it as it sounds. The main base holds the main grip (toe & heel) and the secondary/side base holds the rest of the foot (middle/arch of foot). And the same goes for trick stunts like full ups, the main base has the grip that spins the flyer and the secondary/side base throws and catches.