All-Star What's Your Athletic Diet?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 21, 2010
Not to lose weight or a Worlds crash diet, but to become and stay in shape, I wanted to stay on an athletic, healthy diet throughout the rest of my cheerleading career. This is my first year on a level 5 team and I want to be able to feel great and perform to my highest ability. I read that a good diet can really affect stamina, performance, etc. There are all kinds of things online but I was wondering what you all do to keep in shape throughout the year, especially at restaraunts, school, in a hurry, etc!

Very very true. My boyfriend is into weight lifting/body building and his diet primarily consists of eggs and oatmeal for breakfast and grilled chicken, potatoes and vegetables for lunch and dinner. He allows himself 2 cheats a week. Obviously this is very strict, so I would suggest adding in things like low fat yogurt, fruits, cheeses, tuna, etc.

I'm not as serious as him but I do love healthy foods. Some of my favorites are hummus, apples and brie cheese and oatmeal. I eat 5 or 6 small meals a day as opposed to 3 big meals. I do this mainly because I have a tiny stomach but I've been told that eating this way speeds your metabolism.

Oh, I also keep granola bars in my purse to avoid grabbing unhealthy snacks. I like to keep an apple/apple sauce in my car as well.

It's all about balance IMO. Lots of vegetables, nuts (almonds<33), fruits, glass of milk, WATER, all the time, and no soda. Good protein sources, etc. Don't be afraid to indulge in some sweets though, you don't need to cut them out completely, just know a good limit. Besides diet, conditioning, regularly. Core, cardio, and upper body plus a good diet will definitely show results. And congrats on making a level 5 team, I hope you love it, it's really a great experience!