Y1 Stunting

Discussion in 'Is this legal?' started by eatsleepcheer, Oct 11, 2014.

  1. eatsleepcheer

    eatsleepcheer I'm new. Don't Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Shimmys Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sweden
    Twitter:
    kungsandra
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    We've just got the level rules to sweden, and I'm unsure about some things...


    1. Is it okay to do tictocs in a one-based thighstand without a backspot?

    2. Since you have to have braces in libs at prep level, can you have your backspot as the brace or do you have to have a complete other person/ a flyer?
     
  2. cheer25mom

    cheer25mom Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,500
    Shimmys Received:
    5,770
    I am a(n)...:
    Parent
    I am not a coach or rules expert, but from what I understand the ticks would be legal, but a backspot cannot brace a one legged stunt at prep. The USASF pyramid rules say that a braver on the ground must be a separate person not involved with the stunt.
     
  3. retiredl5cheer

    retiredl5cheer Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,765
    Shimmys Received:
    5,741
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Tick tocks can be done without a back but they cannot release. The base must be holding a part of the flyer at all times. We did switch ups without a back with the base holding the flyer's hand the entire time.
     
  4. Logan Vest

    Logan Vest I shimmy daily

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Shimmys Received:
    145
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Twitter:
    Loganvest10
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I am not an expert on the rules ..

    1. It is legal to do tic toc in a one based thigh stand without a backspot. I just believe the ankle has to be held.
    2. I think you can just have your backspot as the brace.

     
  5. retiredl5cheer

    retiredl5cheer Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,765
    Shimmys Received:
    5,741
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Yup, it's legal. They just have to remain in contact, so you can get creative with what type of connection that is. My J1's had the flyer and base hold hands during the switch up.
     
  6. omgitssydthekid

    omgitssydthekid Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,690
    Shimmys Received:
    3,577
    Location:
    Kansas
    Twitter:
    sydneywright496
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    I have two quick questions because I second guess myself (I'd hate to be the reason for my athletes getting a deduction) and I respect you. For level 1, if I have a prep level like being braced by a shoulder sit and another prep, are they allowed to tick tock? And in level 2, can they switch up (tick up whatever it's called) up to prep level lib if the backspot is connected on both ankles?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. ulta

    ulta They call me Susie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Shimmys Received:
    71
    Yes! They are allowed to do that! All switching of legs (switch-ups, tic tocs etc) is allowed IF the backspot holds on to the ankles (no release moves in lv 1 and 2).
    Hope i helped! (Coached lv 1 last year and lv 2 this year)
     
  8. ulta

    ulta They call me Susie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Shimmys Received:
    71
    2: no, you need to have a seperate person bracing. You can email scf (swedish cheer federation) a video and ask if you're uncertain, they reply quickly! (Fellow sweed here)
     
  9. retiredl5cheer

    retiredl5cheer Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,765
    Shimmys Received:
    5,741
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Well thank you. :)

    @ulta is correct. Level 1 you can "tick tock" without the release move. Have the backspot maintain contact with one of the ankles and the bracer remain in contact with the hands. No release moves allowed in Level 1, so it still scores as a L1 pyramid skill.

    As for the second skill, it's definitely legal if the back spot maintains contact with an ankle, just like you would a fake L2 switch up stunt. However, I think that would probably not score towards a L2 pyramid score because it's a legal level 1 skill when part of a pyramid. Maybe consider switching up to an extended lib. As long as you're braced on the ankle (back spot) and by the prep level bracer, that should be legal. Another option is to have all of your groups switch up to paper doll libs. The connected libs is a level 2 pyramid structure.
     
  10. omgitssydthekid

    omgitssydthekid Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,690
    Shimmys Received:
    3,577
    Location:
    Kansas
    Twitter:
    sydneywright496
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Thank you to you and @ulta! I forgot to mention that the backspot is connected in the pyramid to the ankle in the tick tocks. And the tick ups are for my youth 2's stunt sequence (hopefully ) and they paper doll in their pyramid as well!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. retiredl5cheer

    retiredl5cheer Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,765
    Shimmys Received:
    5,741
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Ahh, it's a definite L2 stunting skill. :) You can even 1/2 up the switch ups.
     
  12. omgitssydthekid

    omgitssydthekid Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,690
    Shimmys Received:
    3,577
    Location:
    Kansas
    Twitter:
    sydneywright496
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    Awesome!!!! Thank you so much :)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk