All-Star Coaching Application Questions/advice

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 3, 2012
I'm applying for a Varsity Cheer Coach position for the first time ever.
I have tons of questions on how to make my application stronger, especially since I've never coached before. I feel like this thread could be beneficial to more than just me considering the amount of knowledgeable coaches / aspiring coaches on the board!

Here are my questions:
1. Will I be considered since I have no coaching experience?

2. I'm applying through a website and it needs me to put down 3 references, none of which can be family members or former employers- and I must have known them for at least 3 years. I know I will be putting down my former cheerleading coach, but should all three references be cheer related? Who that's not cheer related should I include?

These are just my dilemmas right now, but I'm sure I will come up with more, hahah.

Thanks in advance!! :)

1. Depends on the interest in the position. If they get tons of interest from people who have TONS of coaching experience, then typically not. But if they don't get the interest, they may be willing to consider someone with athlete experience but none in actual coaching. I will say that most of the "no coaching experience" girls who apply typically apply for ASSISTANT COACHING positions, rather than head coaching first. But I don't know the school system or the number of applicants it can expect to get. I don't know that I've EVER met a paid head coach with no coaching experience, but every state/school system is different. It's worth a shot.

2. I'd highly suggest getting certified in coaching (whatever your state uses, AACCA, NFHS, etc.) See also: CPR, first aid, etc.

3. Include anyone who knows you in a LEADERSHIP or PROFESSIONAL capacity and can speak to your ability to lead, organize, etc. Ex: Were you Student Council President? Put your advisor down.