Backhandspring

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Nov 20, 2012
okay so i know there are alot of forums about backhandsprings, but i looked through alot and this is alittle different. well i have my backhandspring -ive been throwing it for 3 years- and its not good. i need some advice! whenever i do it with a spot (barely even a spot, someone just holding their hand on my back) its great! then i do it on my own and my arms are all bent and my head almost hits the floor... every time. it really bothers me and i know that if i want to advance my tumbling skills i have to fix this problem because i want to be on level 3 next year. yet whenever i do it on the tumbling track its fine and i can do multiple handsprings as well as tucks. Any ideas/advice/tips ???? its greatly appreciated!! Also, my legs are always crazy so any tips on things to maybe strengthen or conditioning to solve the problem, thanks! :)

My Cp is going through something very similar to this. She got her sbh over summer and ro bhs in Nov. Somewhere in between she started having pains in her lower back. Now when she does her standing it almost looks like her head is hitting the mat, it's so close. But with a spot who barely touches her, it's great. On the tumble track it's great. I think it's mental. She has stopped doing them at dance all together and said it's because she doesn't want to get hurt. But having that security of the spot or the pit is the difference. Could yours also be mental?

When they do corners, she makes sure she is at the end of the line and the coach always goes over to say something to her after her pass. I can't hear, just see. But she also does handstands against the wall, so maybe try that?

Hope you get it figured out!