All-Star Changing Divisions For 1 Competition

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

2yearcheermom

Cheer Parent
Dec 12, 2011
How often does a it occur that a "gym" will change their division (without changing athletes) for 1 competition? Then the next competition (national) they are back to their correct and original division. Example GYM B's team all year has been competitng as JCoed5, then go to Restricted 5 for one competiton? Then back to JCoed 5 for the rest of the season?

I'm still new to this whole cheer thing... please don't hurt me.. :) My intentions are honorable, just curious.

On a seperate note: Isn't there age restrictions on Senior Restricted 5?

It happens...I haven't heard of this as much as a team dropping a level. Some teams actually will compete at different levels throughout the season, i.e. drop a level at a larger competition to secure a win (it's pretty controversial and there's lots of threads on this). Sometimes teams start the season at one level and decide they are pushing themselves too hard and will drop down to a more comfortable level.

For senior restricted 5 the minimum age is 10.

Common reasons are:
*To avoid/seek competition- If there's nobody in their division, they might go up or down to have competition. Or if they're afraid to lose, they might change to be in a division by themselves. If there's nobody in EITHER division, a team might try a different level than they normally would (Junior 2 to Junior 3) just to push the kids.

Now, some teams tend to be a strong X level but a weak Y, so for local comps with no other teams, they might try for Y for the experience, but the bigger nationals be X. Where this gets into a tricky situation is: where is the line for 'competitive?' IMO- if your routine is hit and you could get top 5 at one of the major 4 nationals, you should NOT be allowed to compete down. That was a bit of an issue for a few teams last year..