All-Star Cheer Vs. Gymnastics

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Oct 8, 2010
I have to write a paper/article for my creative writing project and the theme I got was Sports. I want to do on a piece on the similarites and differences of gymnastics. Considering I haven't done gymnastics since I was 4 I really don't remember what the atmosphere and was like and stuff like that. I could really use some help. Anyone?

Gymnastics is governed largely by USA Gymnastics, I have no experience with any minor governing bodies so I wont comment on those. USAG consists of four different types of gymnastics Women's and Men's artistic, Rhythmic, tramp and tumbling and acrobatic.

The most popular (and the only one I have any experience coaching) is Women's artistic, consisting of four event's; vault, bars, floor and beam. All four events are equal in value and add up to a perfect score of 40 overall.

Much like cheerleading there are dozens of possible divisions based on age and level.