High School Different Squads Competition Vs Sideline

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Sep 11, 2013
I am a high school varsity coach in Illinois, I currently have one squad, they are the same squad for both football and basketball and competition. My athletic director wants me to hold two tryouts for next year one for football and one for basketball. I don't think he understand how important it is that I have my competition girls all summer long. I personally am against two tryouts. Is there anyone who does different squads? How do you run things? What do you suggest?

What if your football cheerleaders were your competition team and the basketbal cheerleaders did basketball sideline? Just a thought.

As a parent, I would give anything not to have to sit through all the basketball games...

With two squads you open yourself up to letting girls who play fall sports the opportunity to cheer for winter sports and vice versa. This is how we have done it at our HS for years. I can't speak to the competition aspect because our school does not compete - yet.

The best way I can think to do it is to have a tryout in the spring for football, and one in the fall for basketball. If the girls are interested in competing, they commit to both football and basketball and tryout for the competition squad in the spring.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I know some teams will have one big tryout and then decide from there who will be on a performance team, (football, basketball) and the competition team. usually, the competition team will work on comp routine the entire off season while the current cheerleaders will work on traditional cheer related things (non comp).

I said some schools, I know not at all school does this. But this is what one my local big high schools did as well. But they also had two coaches. So it made a big difference.

Do you compete during basketball season then?