Ethical Gyms

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jan 17, 2016
I am new to cheer, my daughter has only been doing all star cheer a couple of years. My concern is my daughter cheers for a small gym and we are very happy there, but a larger gym has come to town and is acquiring other gyms, tried to buy our owner out of her gym but when our owner refused is now trying to recruit most of our athletes. The bigger gym is actually offering a money incentive to leave your current gym and join their gym. Is this normal business in the cheer business?

I am new to cheer, my daughter has only been doing all star cheer a couple of years. My concern is my daughter cheers for a small gym and we are very happy there, but a larger gym has come to town and is acquiring other gyms, tried to buy our owner out of her gym but when our owner refused is now trying to recruit most of our athletes. The bigger gym is actually offering a money incentive to leave your current gym and join their gym. Is this normal business in the cheer business?
Unfortunately, I've heard of that happening before. Sad but true.

So, my problem is what are we teaching our children? My daughter has friends that are leaving her small gym because the other gym wins more events. I am trying to teach my child the right thing to do and also that winning is not everything. She has actually grown and is constantly learning at our gym, but I know she is frustrated and sad because she feels she is "losing" friends.

So, my problem is what are we teaching our children? My daughter has friends that are leaving her small gym because the other gym wins more events. I am trying to teach my child the right thing to do and also that winning is not everything. She has actually grown and is constantly learning at our gym, but I know she is frustrated and sad because she feels she is "losing" friends.