High School High School Cheer 101

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Dec 30, 2009
Hi All!!

I am coaching my old high school and want to get them back into competing. Im a coach at Hotcheer Allstars, so coaching high school is so different for me! We used to compete YEARS ago when the gym owners of Hotcheer coached my high school. Ever since they retired to run HC, the competition squad stopped.

I need major advice on starting it back up! A lot of the girls seem really intimidated about competing, but they have so much potential, got to start some where! I need to know about divisions for high school cheer, score sheets and all the jazz! ANYTHING is helpful!!

=)

The first thing you will have to do is decide if you're doing UCA or NCA. I will assume NCA, as it will be a better fit with Allstars and that seems to be where your expertise is. You may also want to reach out to your state's cheerleading orginization and get information about NCA (if that's what you decide) competitions at local HS......then go from there. You may need a good year of just building and training to compete, gather all your information together, then I would definitely recommend a camp for next spring/summer and start competing the 2015/16 season.
Good Luck!

First figure out if you're even allowed to travel and compete at outside competitions. In MD there are rules in place that prohibit certain counties from participating in competitions other than those set up by the state. MD high schools were also prohibited from traveling outside of the state, at least when I was in school.