High School How To Do Well On An Interview?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jun 1, 2012
Okay, Well first off I searched if there were any threads about interviews and nothing showed up so I decided to create one :) My highschool cheer coach is having interviews for whoever wants to become captain. I've never done an interview before and I need some advice and it will also help me when I apply for my cheer gym's teacher assitant job in a few years. If anyone has any advice on stuff to say or interview questions so I can quiz myself than please please please post it!!! I really want Captain and I'm already on a good start! Thanks <3

This goes for all interviews, but typically there are different kinds of questions they ask. Sometimes you get asked multiple types and other times you only get asked one....it just depends on the interview.
Examples:
  1. Credential verification questions
    Example: What is your GPA? and How long were you at . . . Its purpose is to place objective measurements on features of your background.
  2. Experience verification questions
    This type of question includes What did you learn in that class? and What were your responsibilities in that position? Its purpose is to subjectively evaluate features of your background.
  3. Opinion questions
    This type of question includes What would you do in this situation? and What are your strengths and weaknesses? Their purpose is to subjectively analyze how you would respond in a series of scenarios. The reality is that you play back a pre-programmed answer.
  4. Dumb questions
    This type of question includes What kind of animal would you like to be? and What color best describes you? Their purpose is to get past your pre-programmed answers to find out if you are capable of an original thought. There is not necessarily a right or wrong answer, since it is used primarily to test your ability to think on your feet.
  5. Behavioral questions