Intro & First Question

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

HappyGirls

Cheer Parent
Feb 2, 2016
Thank you for allowing me to join your board! I am a newbie cheer parent with NO cheer background (I was a varsity swimmer through college). I have 2 young daughters 5 & 7 years old...the 7 year old has cheered rec for 2 years and is on an 8U level 2 team--a great fit, as she has just gotten level 2 skills. The 5 year old has cheered for 6 months and is also on the 8U level 2 team. The 5 year old has developed her tumbling skills pretty quickly--she started tumbling lessons 14 months ago, and at that time could only do a cartwheel--but last week she got her standing tuck on the floor.

I would like to keep the 5 year old in rec cheer because she's also a really good lacrosse player and we like to do that in the spring. I am looking for things that will help keep her challenged, as will probably be a while before we move past level 2 team competition.

So my question is regarding solo cheer competition..do all solo cheer competitions limit 6U to level 1 skills and 8U to level 2 skills?

Any other thoughts or advice?

No, you're likely not to be limited by age and skill. Most competitions do individuals by age only. Some competitions do individuals by age and skill, but they're not limited (this past weekend, I saw a mini level 4 competitor).

For reference, in the all star world, 8U is Mini and 6U is Tiny.

No, you're likely not to be limited by age and skill. Most competitions do individuals by age only. Some competitions do individuals by age and skill, but they're not limited (this past weekend, I saw a mini level 4 competitor).

For reference, in the all star world, 8U is Mini and 6U is Tiny.

Thank you Sarah! I must be reading it wrong--or maybe it's an Epic Brands rule?

I think this must be what you're reading: http://theepicbrands.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/2015-2016-EPIC-Cheer-Solos-Groups.pdf