All-Star Looking For Some Info On Starting A Special Needs Team...

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

dance2874

Cheer Parent
Jan 27, 2013
Our gym is in the beginning stages of starting a special needs team. I am going to attempt to help as I have some experience in that area, having a special needs child myself. Can anyone point me in the direction of the basic info we will need to get started? I guess our main questions are if there are age restrictions, and if the coaches need any special certification. I know I have seen this discussed here somewhere but a search didnt really bring up many results.

THANKS!

Our gym is in the beginning stages of starting a special needs team. I am going to attempt to help as I have some experience in that area, having a special needs child myself. Can anyone point me in the direction of the basic info we will need to get started? I guess our main questions are if there are age restrictions, and if the coaches need any special certification. I know I have seen this discussed here somewhere but a search didnt really bring up many results.

THANKS!

I'll be glad to help. I've worked with dozens of gyms in starting teams. Send me an email to [email protected] and I'll get you lots of info.

The Fierce Board: If you're gonna be talked about, shouldn't you at least be here to defend yourself?

What I DO know is that there is no age limit for the SN division and I am fairly certain they are limited to L2 with no baskets allowed. I'm sure ACEDAD knows better than I do, though!