All-Star Pre Competition Games And Activities

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 16, 2010
I'm a new coach and am looking for some ideas for fun games/activities to do the week of competition. All practices will include warming up and throwing the routine but that only takes so long! I also want to get the girls pumped up for the upcoming competition and more bonded before they take the mat. Also if anyone has cute goody bag ideas-- I'm thinking candy with a little note. i.e. Pixie stix so you stick all your tumbling. I'd love to hear any ideas you guys have!

The Fierce Board App! || iPhone || Android || Upgrade Your Account!

I think you won't have as much "free" time as you think. My cp's team conditions forever, warms up forever and does full outs forever. There's no time for games at any practice.

i love doing runs where everybody messes up on purpose, its sorta like the no hands thing but it REALLY helps getting out gitters before or after a practice of full outs before competition heres a video of SSX to show what i mean

Not really fun: but you should have a practice before comp where stuff goes wrong on purpose to teach them to keep going. Like turn off the music, or make it skip so they have to keep going without it.. Or tell a girl to make her shoes/bows come off and not tell everyone else to see how they react/ if they can continue without freaking out..

You can have different themes for the practices or just have them wear a certain color (one day coordinate with their stunt group, one day all wear pink, etc). Maybe a crazy sock or hair day.... Just try to give the parents enough notice and keep it simple so that they're not going crazy trying to find something for the practice last minute. The week before a comp - especially if it is a travel comp - is stressful enough for us parents :)