Question For High School Tryout Judges (re: Tumbling)

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 29, 2011
As a tumbling coach, I am asked this question all the time, and I don't know the answer. For high school cheer tryouts, which tumbling pass would get a higher score (assuming they're both done with perfect technique)?

Round off, multiple back handsprings, back tuck
Round off, back handspring, layout

Is a long pass with many skills more impressive, or a short pass with greater difficulty?

I would assume that the girl with the "perfect" layout could most likely also do the series bhs to tuck

I am not a judge for high school tryouts but I do know that throwing a layout will get you scored high only if thrown with good technique. At our tryouts this past year we as captains and coaches were trying to decided between a couple different girls. Overall we went with who had their layout and would throw it at competition ( there were other factors involved as well). While multiple backhandsprings to tuck is a great pass to have the layout will be more of an asset to the team because it will score higher at competition. Hope this helped!

Whenever I judge try outs for high school and middle my scale is (because tumbling is generally worth 5 points)

5- full
4- layout
3- tuck
2- backhandspring
anything else gets an "aw thats cute" and 0 points.

If the school has next to no tumbling I give anyone that does at least a backhandspring 5-4 points

and rolls, cartwheels, and round offs... 1 point

Generally I don't subtract for technique...I just judge on attempt...solely because most of the schools here in SC have weak tumbling.

So to answer the question, if I were judging the layout would get more points