High School Rules Regarding All Star Cheer And Hs Cheer

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Aug 4, 2013
Hi. I am a high school cheer coach and was wondering what your HS policy is regarding your cheerleaders who also do all stars. I have several who do both but only one who wants to miss the HS games/practices for all stars. She and her mom feels I should cater my practices around her all star schedule. I feel HS should come 1st. Please let me know your school policy so I can assure myself I am being fair. Thanks!

Here it is the coaches choice if they can do both, luckily our AL coach figures it out for those who do. Few 2 day comps we have had fill ins the first day.

Hi. I am a high school cheer coach and was wondering what your HS policy is regarding your cheerleaders who also do all stars. I have several who do both but only one who wants to miss the HS games/practices for all stars. She and her mom feels I should cater my practices around her all star schedule. I feel HS should come 1st. Please let me know your school policy so I can assure myself I am being fair. Thanks!
In Maine, the governing body of sports (MPA I think) has rules in place that prevent an athlete from missing a school sport commitment (even cheering at a game) for anything for a club sport. I wasn't aware of this rule until my senior year when a few fellow all star teammates weren't going to be able to make our extra all star practice because of a game they had to cheer at. My all star gym was always really good about scheduling practices around all of the local schools' practices and such because otherwise she'd lose a huge proportion of her senior aged kids, and the gym owner also happened to be a retired high school coach so she supported the kids being able to do both. So in a nutshell: in my state school sport is required to be first priority.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk