High School School Tryouts

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Reallycoolcheermommy

Cheer Parent
Feb 19, 2012
Is it normal for school coaches to judge and select their teams without bringing in outside judges for tryouts??

Reallycoolcheermommy Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

well im a coach and im not going to be judging the girls and boys trying out for my team. first time so well see how it goes!

well im a coach and im not going to be judging the girls and boys trying out for my team. first time so well see how it goes!

I've held tryouts both ways. Now I usually judge with my fellow coach and have one of the coaches I used to coach with come in as well. But either way at the end of the day I know that the other coach and I have the final say.

We bring in outside judges... the more eyes the better! But that only applies for our first cut. After that its just me looking at stunting to make the final decision on how the 3 teams are split. It has worked well for us.

I've held tryouts both ways. Now I usually judge with my fellow coach and have one of the coaches I used to coach with come in as well. But either way at the end of the day I know that the other coach and I have the final say.
agreed!

Our coach brings in some of her good friends are also involved in the cheer industry to help judge tryouts. But ultimatlly the decision is up to our coach.

I have judged my own tryouts for 5 years now, however I'm the ONLY coach that I know of in our area that does! I have judged tryouts for many other programs and while a few have gone of judges scores given, most the time the coach doesn't even look at them or they just do whatever they want anyways. I'm all for the coach picking the team, but stand behind your decisions, don't be shady and pretend the judges did it.

The way my coach did it, which I really liked, was you were judged on two parts: