All-Star Special Needs Judging

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

May 23, 2011
Now I'm sure at the major Nationals where they are actually being ranked the Special Needs teams will receive feed back on their score sheets on what they need to improve and things they should fix. However at most competitions they are more of exhibitions teams. What do you feel is appropriate for the judges to do on the score sheets and what competition companies have you found really highlight these amazing athletes? This past year was our first season having a SN's team and it was such a difference between companies on how they handled the team.

I am a coach of a special needs team, and as much as I want them to be judged, I'm struggling to find a system that would work. Living in Idaho, we are the only special needs team at most of our competitions until we hit nationals. I would love to see them judged, but I think it should be based off what the kids can do by themselves. This is our 5th season with a SN team, and in the past we have seen teams with two helpers (athletes from other teams in the gym) to every one athlete on the team. These "helpers" are doing everything for the kids. Don't get me wrong, it is amazing to watch SN teams perform every time, but I know there's so much those kids can do on their own and they're not being taught or allowed to do so.

My biggest thing lately is if we aren't going to be judged, at least give us some good feedback. Most judges are like "yay, good job! you rocked it!" and I'm tired of that. If you want to see them pointing their toes more, tell us. If you want to see a cradle instead of a bump down, tell us. (obviously judges want to see the hardest things they can do, i know). The kids are on these teams because they want to be like regular cheerleaders...I'm ready for people to start treating them that way.