Getting Ready For Camp

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 11, 2014
This is my first year coaching a high school cheer squad. I have coached a middle school squad for several years. With the middle school squad, we aways did a home camp. I am excited, and a little nervous, about taking this high school squad to camp this year. Last year was rough for them, so I want to start this year of right. I've read the camp material, but I want to know.....what do we REALLY need to know for camp BEFORE we arrive. I know we need a home pom routine, but other than that, what do they need to be able to do? Also, do we take our own music for our home pom?

This is a cheer team? What camp are you going to?
I know our dance team brings a home Pom routine to NDA camp but none of the teams at NCA camp have ever done a home routine of any kind.

The Fierce Board App! || iPhone || Android

Yes, it's a UCA cheer camp. According to the information provided, we can be evaluated on a fight song dance and home routine on the first night of camp.

I know there are quite a few on the boards who go to/went to UCA camp. Unfortunately I've not been to NCA camp so I can't be too helpful! @BuegeSmalls might know, she just made UCA staff but idk if they've done any training or anything yet.

I know there are quite a few on the boards who go to/went to UCA camp. Unfortunately I've not been to NCA camp so I can't be too helpful! @BuegeSmalls might know, she just made UCA staff but idk if they've done any training or anything yet.

We haven't done any training yet but my school went to a UCA day camp thing my junior & senior years. We didn't have anything prepared the first year since it was the weekend right after tryouts and I don't recommend that. I'd make sure to have a few practice already done and have set stunt groups before you get there. Bring signs and poms to use for your cheer.