Flyer?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 2, 2015
Hi,
I just joined a cheer team I'm on level 1 ( this is my first time ever doing cheer! ) and I was chosen to be a flyer ( not permanently, just for that practice ) and we had to keep switching base groups ( it was just practice for all bases I think! ) My first base group was so good but then when i had to switch to my second base group my back spot threw me forward instead of lifting me up and I fell straight down on my face, I was so scared then I had to switch to my 3rd base group and I was still kind of scared of flying again because of what my previous back spot had done ( I was afraid another back spot would do that) but my third base group was very good! but then when I had to switch to my 4th base group and the side bases weren't very strong so I fell straight down on my bum/back and since I'd never flown before I was super scared so I begged my coach if I could be a base instead and she didn't want to put me as one because she said its my first time and she thinks I'm doing well but I was just so embarrassed that I kept falling ( which I don't really think was my fault because I stayed as tight as I could in the air ) she switched me but then I really regretted begging my coach to put me as a base!
I really want to be a flyer again I loved it with my 1st and 3rd base group, what should I do? Should I talk to my coach and tell her why I wanted to be a base? And does anyone have any tips to be a flyer and a good one I'd appreciate it!
Sorry this is so long and confusing please reply ASAP x

Since you're on a team with a lot of beginners, including yourself, you need to understand it won't be perfect especially in the beginning of the season. If you're uncomfortable falling and need the best bases then honestly you don't need to be a flyer.