Height Discrimination

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 9, 2014
Hi, I am new to this so anyway. In cheerleading, you are probably familiar with how they usually choose the short people to fly....Anyway I find it kind of offensive. Not saying that short people are bad but on my team, the short people were like 4 ft 6 and weighed 90 lbs and I was 5 ft and 70 lbs and I was a front ( the average height on my team was around 5 ft). Not only that but I was one of those people with long legs which makes some cool lines. Also, I am extremely flexible. I almost have my needle. I have these on both legs, arabesque, scale, scorpion, heelstretch. I also have my bow n arrow on one leg...I'm sorry I am kind of ranting but I feel like they shouldnt have the shortest flyers if the short ones are not confident doing anything besides a prep, not even a cradle. Anyway my point is, I feel some height discrimination in cheerleading, and I really hope that if there is a short girl who was unconfident next to a taller girl who was flexible, confident, and can hold up their weight. I am sorry if this came off as rude but tall girls can be just as good. I got to fly because I accidentally within ear-shot of my coach said "Maybe she should try other girls, if those 2 aren't right for this, even though they are shorter." Oh my gosh, I just read this it sounds so rude. I feel so bad now. Sorry.....I just needed to let out my feelings oh and btw, this was JV so I was in 7th grade and some people were in 6th

el oh el, my contact pic is from when I was like a little child. The height discrimination sounded kinda rude, ok probably really rude, my friend just told me that I shouldnt fly cuz there are shorter people...I am kind of mad about that, I guess I am fine with basing. But I am not very good with getting them up