High School Homecoming Ideas

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 30, 2015
Hello everyone! We wanted to do something for the football players this year. I'm new to coaching (was a cheerleader for HS, college) but didn't know what the new things people were doing nowadays. We do the locker stuff every Friday, but wanted to know if anyone had a few other ideas?

Our football team hasn't won a game this year, so we really wanted to make them feel special this homecoming. I know it's last minute but I'm positive we can get things going. Money is not much of an issue!

Signs on the road leading into the stadium with players names/numbers and inspirational sayings.

Special goodies each day: a can of root beer tagged, "we're rooting for you!"…

I had more, but I was interrupted and lost my train of thought.

Our school does a guy / girl routine during the Homecoming assembly. Always lots of fun

Thursday night varsity decorates the outside of the boys' lockers and puts candy etc in them.

Friday morning posters with the players' names and numbers (and more candy) and hung in the cafeteria.

Pep rally after school Friday.

Friday night the posters from the cafeteria are brought to the boys' houses and their front doors are decorated.

Saturday morning cheerleaders go in early and decorate boys locker room.

Our girls are assigned 2 players each if they are underclassmen and only one if they are seniors.

JV cheer decorated varsity cheer lockers for Friday as well.

Our cheer team "cheer slaps" the senior football players. On Monday they call the parents to get permission from the parents and verify addresses..Then on Wednesday while the guys are still at practice they go to each senior players room and decorate it with streamers, banners, pictures, balloons and leave candy behind for them. They also dress in black and leave a picture of themselves saying "you've been cheer slapped"