High School I Want To Coach.

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 27, 2012
I just aged out of all star and have done a total of 7 years of cheerleading including high school. I really want to coach(at most assistant whether its high school or all star) but I have no experience at coaching just of course cheer. How would I go about with that?

I'm also moving because of college so my old gym wouldn't be an option.

See if you can find an Allstar gym close to your college and ask if they are taking applications. Offer to coach Tiny or Mini teams where you're not going to have to be spotting tucks. Or offer to coach a local rec program. A lot of those coaches are volunteers anyways so you can get some experience as a coach that way

Try starting your coaching career with a rec cheer program or a high school. I know the high schools in our area are always looking for people that have the knowledge that you have.

Would you need any type of training or certification to start?

Your experience will help, but I would recommend taking the tests for the USASF certifications. You'll only be able to get the first couple of levels until you have additional experience. Your all star coach can probably help recommend a gym near your college. If not, post where your attending college and I'm sure someone on here will have an opinion!

Because you're so young (I experienced this problem), a high school is likely not going to hire you. I would go with rec, with a high school you're going through school systems, you have to do background checks, and drug tests etc etc, and they'll likely choose someone older.