Is Intimidation Common Place?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Sep 14, 2012
I'm new to this cheer thing, and am wondering if the way my kids are being treated is the norm. One coach is intimidating and very forceful with his tactics in handling the team. We have been told by the owner that his discipline is necessary to make the team focus, but my daughters feel intimidated by this guy. I don't parent like this. If they can't get something, I don't force it. I believe their skills, even physical strength they need for stunts, will come in time and there is no need for shouting and pushing well over their limits. Some moms tell me their kids are used to this method of training so they don't complain.

We have a coach who is very forceful and uses colorful language with his teams also. The things that I've had to teach my cp about this are:

1. Do NOT take it personally. He's an equal-opportunity shoe-thrower.
2. He doesn't get ugly until things get out of control. Mind yourself, put in effort, and he's fine.
3. No other coach, and I mean NO other coach, will show the team all the love in the world when they hit the floor at comps.
4. He lives for the teams he coaches and expects the same in return. He's just 100% in everything he feels.

A coach that pushes will ultimately bring out the most in your cp. Just think, a wishy-washy, relaxed coach may have their place (and we also have the soft-touch coaches) but the ones that get results are the ones that encourage an athlete to push to their limit and beyond. My cp has needed both of these types at some point or another, and I'm thankful she's had them. She was very intimidated by her coach when she started at the gym, for that matter I was too, but has grown to love and appreciate him, and even made the comment a couple weeks ago that she never wants to leave him.