Legal In High School Pyramid?

Discussion in 'High School Cheerleading' started by dream2beCOACH, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. dream2beCOACH

    dream2beCOACH They call me Susie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Shimmys Received:
    71
    Hello! Just a legality question here. I recently saw an opposing team do this stunt at a football game and was wondering if it was in fact legal.

    They had a girl jump in to a normal half/prep, they had a girl stand directly in front of the flyer and grab her hands. The bases dipped and the flyer flipped over the young lady in front of her and landed in a cradle with 2 catchers.


    These young ladies did it very gracefully and I was wondering if this is something my girls could do. Just want to make sure I'm not breaking any rules before I do :)

    Thanks all for your help!
     
  2. Andre

    Andre Batman at Justice League

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,495
    Shimmys Received:
    1,274
    Location:
    Hopefully someplace warm
    Web:
    Twitter:
    andrejcarter
    I am a(n)...:
    USASF
    Verified Member:
    Andre Carter
    USASF Core Safety Official
    There are lots of sets of high school rules so you'll probably have to give an indication of which set is used to get and accurate answer.
     
  3. SparkleSpankies

    SparkleSpankies I think I can mix Cheer Music

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,242
    Shimmys Received:
    1,518
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach
    We did this last season except to be sure it was legal, I used 2 posts that locked out arms so there were no question vs one post over head. Since last year rules have changed and I did not look into this specific one yet.
     
  4. dream2beCOACH

    dream2beCOACH They call me Susie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Shimmys Received:
    71
    We follow the NFHS spirit rules. Thank you, your help is appreciated!
     
  5. MHSCheercoach

    MHSCheercoach I text ACEDAD all the time

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    401
    Shimmys Received:
    308
    I am a(n)...:
    Coach / Athlete
    According to NFHS. You cannot flip over a post. (please correct me if I am wrong) You can have a front post and leap frog over into a cradle catch and you can even have your back spot be a post and do a front flip from a load position into a cradle catch by the same bases, but as far as I can tell, you cannot flip over another person.
     
  6. Twinklestars

    Twinklestars Slow your roll, Sparkle.

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,218
    Shimmys Received:
    2,841
    Location:
    Up above the world so high
    I am a(n)...:
    Parent
  7. cowboycheersarah

    cowboycheersarah Cheer Stalker

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Shimmys Received:
    34
    We did the same stunt, but our "post" was in a (what we call squish) or load in position ( or thigh stand). Our competitive coach said this was legal, but we may follow a different set of rules.


    We are the best, of silver black and blue. Cowboys
     
  8. ItsCheerGirl

    ItsCheerGirl I'm new. Don't Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Shimmys Received:
    9
    I am a(n)...:
    Athlete
    i would check the rulebook just to be safe. You can email it to them and they can review the stunt to see if its legal!